This was a special gift for a long distance married couple who could only spend 30% of the year together for the last 4 years and who never celebrated any anniversaries together because of the distance.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .